Premier League

12 Premier League records created in the final matches of the season

The Premier League season has finally come to end after a year and 3 months of unbelievable football. The game might have been halted for months due to Covid-19 pandemic but, it still left a lasting impression on fans who followed the game to final whistle.

Liverpool are Premier League champions for the first time in history and have ended their 30-year wait to win a league title. Manchester United meanwhile have qualified for Champions League after missing out for past three years.

Bournemouth, Watford and Norwich City have sadly been relegated to the Championship while Aston Villa and West Ham somehow avoided the drop.

Here are the 10 thngs we learnt:

Dwight Gayle– In the final match of the season, Dwight Gayle scored the fastest goal in just 25 seconds against Liverpool. Although, Newcastle United went on to lose the game 3-1.

Liverpool– The reigning champions of England won the Premier League with a record 99 points. Only Manchester City have won the league with more points {100pts} than Liverpool. Added to this record, Liverpool have won more league matches than any other team in Premier League history {31 games}.

Danny Ings– The England international striker scored 22 Premier League goals this season to equal Le Teisser record for Southampton back in 1994.


Jesse Lingaard- The Manchester United striker scored his first goal in 34 matches against Leicester City. Lingaard is the first striker to score in Ole Gunnar Solskjear’s first match in charge of Manchester United and last striker to score 2019/20 season.

De Bruyne- The Belgian superstar equaled Thierry Henry’s all time assist in a league season against Norwich City with 20 assists.

David Silva– Manchester City legend David Silva have ended his 10 year sting with the club. He will likely join Xavi Hernandez in Qatar or David Villa in Japan while working on his coaching badge.

Jamie Vardy- Vardy have finally beaten Pierre Aubameyang, Mohamed Salah and Danny Ings to the golden boot. The last time we won it was back in 2015 when Leicester City won their first ever Premier League title.

Wolves– Nuno Espirito Santos team have now qualified for the Europa League for the second successive season. It is a great achievement for the club.

Sheffield United- The Blades have now recorded their highest league point in Premier League history.

Eddie Howe– The Premier League’s longest serving manager {5 yrs and 4 months} have now been relegated to the Championship with Bournemouth.

Ederson- The Brazilian shot-stopper has now his first ever Golden Gloves. He ended the season with 16 clean sheets.

Harry Maguire– The 27-year-old is the first Manchester United outfield player to play every minute in a Premier League season since Gary Pallister in 1994/95

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *